Taking the Plunge into Politics…

The Chinese leader Deng Xiaoping felt that his only option was to “cross the river by feeling for the stones”, as he began China’s changed course towards a market economy. As I take my plunge into Indian politics, I feel likewise.

A clear path has not been laid out for me. However, I don’t feel completely unprepared. Since I wrote my first blog “Why Politics?”, I have had opportunity to get to know others who have had interests similar to mine – this includes a few who have already put the courage of their convictions to real-life tests. Several people who feel the need for positive politics in India have provided me support and encouragement. I have also received ideas and suggestions from folks actively involved with NGOs.

A particularly interesting experience was volunteering with and observing the US election campaign of Krystal Ball. She and her campaign team generously shared their experiences and perspectives on various matters of running a campaign. I don’t expect that most of the tools and techniques used by them to be directly applicable in India. However, I definitely was able to develop new perspectives and this experience has certainly enhanced my own passion.

I am cautiously optimistic and I look forward to the challenges that lie ahead. As I prepare to take my baby steps towards public service, I am thankful for the stone here, the rock there, and the boulder in the vicinity immersed in my side of the water. I hope that this kind of support will continue and increase as I aim for the other side.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Ashwini on December 2, 2010 at 5:09 am

    Hi, your view towards politics is very interesting.Yes the political system in our country has to be changed, Our political system has to be supported with experience & talents i.e., talents of youngster should be utilized & supported by the senior persons experience. so that technology also can be utilized to see an developed country.

    All the best.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Harish Boregowda on December 9, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    Thgh I do not know much abt what u did in the USA,I guess u wer in a gud job postn well-settld. To quit all those & jmp into a road-less-trvld, tough & not-so-clean & tht too in India, needs lots of guts & dtrmntn. Apprct u for that.
    ATB! Do lemme know if I cud b of some hlp to u.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

